Contemplating NaNoWriMo 2015

Winner-2014-Square-ButtonNaNoWriMo will begin in a mere 34 days.

Last year I managed to cross the finish line – first time I’ve done it. I want to do all I can to succeed again this year.

It’s been a tough year since then in terms of fighting depression and all that entails, along with some challenging situations at work, but the plan is to compartmentalize anything that would hold me back, then lay a foundation and create structure that will carry me through whatever November holds. (Wow! What a run on sentence.)

Self-Advice (so far)
Do not spend hours on writing a blog every day.
If I do write any blog posts, they must be short, sweet, and be scheduled prior to November.
Make a schedule and stick with it – it’s ok to be flexible if needed.
Eat healthy food; NaNo is not an excuse to eat badly.
Keep up exercise. No excuses!

Timeline (so far)
September 27 – October 3
Create to do list
Establish a timeline
Review writing notes
Review How To books

October 4 – 10
Set up Files and Folders for the new novel
(I’m trying it in Word this year. I used Scrivener in the past. I may even try it in Docs. My son writes fanfic that way and says it is convenient.)
Create characters
Questionnaires
Interviews
GMC charts
NaNoWriMo site will reset for this year on Monday, 10/5/15

October 11 – 17
Continue characterization
Lay out a general plot
Research if necessary

October 18 – 24
Thursday, 10/22 – Workshop provided by NaNoWriMo area coordinator @ the library
Characters and plot as needed

October 25 – 31
Declutter, pay bills, run errands, housework, etc.
Put together a kit of inspiration for visitors during CWIs
(Story Cubes, quotes, advice from No Plot, No Problem & Ready, Set, Novel, Batyisms)
Update NaNo Dashboard

November 1 – 7
Monday 11/2 – Come Write In @ the library
Writing Days: Sunday, Monday, Thursday, Friday

November 8 -14
Monday 11/9 – Come Write In @ the library
Writing Days: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Saturday

November 15 – 21
Monday 11/16 – Come Write In @ the library
Writing Days: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Saturday

November 22 – 28
Sunday, 11/22 – Jingle Bell 5K Run/Walk
Monday 11/23 – Come Write In @ the library
Thursday, 11/26 – Turkey Trot 5K Run/Walk
Writing Days: Sunday, Monday, Thursday?, Friday?, Saturday

November 29 – 30
Monday 11/30 – Come Write In @ the library
Writing Days: Sunday, Monday

This is where I am in my planning as of today. It’s a work in progress.  ❤

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in NaNoWriMo 2015
2 comments on “Contemplating NaNoWriMo 2015
  1. Good luck Jacki. I did Nano for the first time last year and loved it. But I’m still polishing the novel that came out of it. I know what I’m like – if I start something new and shiny this November I might not finish last year’s. But I still might give into temptation yet …

    • I’m in the same boat with you. I’ve still got work to do on last year’s, but I think writing another is still a good idea. My focus and interest change over the months so I know I can come back to my novel from last year any time.

      I know writers who have a reserve of just started, half finished, and not quite done works. It makes me think of crafters and knitters with unfinished projects. It must be human nature. But they – the writers, the crafters, the knitters – do finish things.
      That said, I can’t tel you how often I hear writers who say, “Finish your shit!”
      So, yeah, I need to finish what I started last year, but I’m still going on with this year. I’m hoping to be in a better place next year. If not I’ll have two good starts and more experience under my belt.

Leave a Reply

