The Camera – a Drabble

Brownie-camera

I stand in the camera shop, such a mundane place for the thing I see, and the seeing of it.

I found your camera in a box from half a century ago. What a surprise, to find film inside.

And, dear God, there you are. Before I had you wrapped ’round my finger. Before you could kiss away my hurts. Before you were anyone’s hero.

There is your face, so dear, so fresh and slightly out of focus, sporting a lopsided grin as you fiddled with the camera, accidentally taking a selfie and leaving it for me to find.

~~~~~~~~~~

Can also be found at The Drabble.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in flash fiction, writing
2 comments on “The Camera – a Drabble
  1. kirizar says:

    I love the idea of found film. I think once you have lost enough people to age and infirmity, you will treasure these goofy glimpses that you might not otherwise have if the person could opt to throw it away unseen.

    • When I was figuring out how to write this, I had an idea that some grand revelation would be unearthed in the film of a camera packed away for years, or even purchased at a thrift shop. But working in 100 words, it just wasn’t possible. I suppose this could apply to any sort of relationship, but I was thinking of a grown daughter finding a picture of her father from a time when he was an adolescent…as his life was just unfolding.

      Thanks for your words. I agree, if the picture had been developed by the young man, he would not have valued it the way a daughter would while he is in his later years or even gone.

Leave a Reply

