Sentinel of Souls – a Drabble

Sentinel of Souls

GargoyleThe sun goes down, and I breathe deeply, feeling the stiffness release me by slow degrees from granite to flesh.

My awakened eyes seek out the shape and integrity of my charge. Clambering over its stone walls, I see that all has been well as I slumbered. So, I turn my attention toward the souls within. I love and guard them, champion their innocence and happiness.

I cannot do the same for myself, for I was created, not born. Yet, I yearn for communion, for solace. I’m a creature of the night, made without humanity, but for the yearning.

~~~~~~~~~~

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in flash fiction, writing
4 comments on “Sentinel of Souls – a Drabble
  1. K.Gman says:

    Oooh. I like this. Great imagery and mood.

Leave a Reply

