E-Readers & Independent Booksellers

readers

I work in a library.

When people think of me, they think of reading and books.

When people give me gifts, they give me books …and  eReaders.

I have a small collection of readers.  My first, and oldest, is a Nook Color. It is a simple tablet, but way outdated. The next reader I received is a Kindle Keyboard. It is a black & white reader, easy to read on, fairly light-weight, but not lighted for night reading. It will connect to the internet to download books, but anything else is impossible. Next, I received a Kobo Glo.  I love it. It’s also a black & white, is super light-weight and has a light, so is great for reading late into the night. Finally, I have a Kobo Arc. It is an actual tablet that can get out on the internet and has all my reading aps on it. It is lighter weight than the old Nook Color, but still a bit more weighty than the Kobo Glo.  What I like is that I can access all my books on this one device.

So, I have options! And each of them has pros and cons, but the first thing I consider when purchasing an ebook is whether it is available on Kobo.

Kobo is the legacy of Borders Books and though the platform is still working on its chops, it has one unique and desirable hallmark. Kobo offers independent book sellers a reasonable option to sell ebooks.  And don’t we love those quaint, cozy shops tucked away here and there? In these times when the publishing industry is in a state of flux, when even the giants are trying to work things out, Kobo is making it possible for the independents to grab a share of the ePie. Using Kobo you can help your favorite niche book shop keep their charming indie flag flying as you feed your ebook habit.

If you say that Kobo is not as smooth as Amazon or Barnes & Noble, I won’t disagree with you. The search is less robust and their acquisitions are a day or two behind Amazon. Their pricing is close, but sometimes a bit higher.  I’ll grant you these points, but I’m doing this to help out a bookseller, so I’m willing to accept these costs.  In my estimation, they are a small price for keeping my local book shop competitive. Besides, the more business I give Kobo, the more opportunity they have to fine-tune their presence and offerings.

If you are considering getting a Kobo reader – or a Kobo app for your phone or tablet – consider giving your business to an independent. If you don’t know one personally, here’s an awesome place to set up your account:  http://www.rosesbookhouse.com/

Important note:  You have to set up your Kobo account by linking from the book seller’s site, otherwise you won’t be linked and your purchases won’t be credited.

pic_bookstore

Support an independent bookseller – consider a Kobo.

Staff_RosieJust so you know, this is Rosie, staff member of Rose’s Bookhouse. You’d be contributing to her food and toy fund. You won’t find an employee like this one at Books-a-Million or B&N.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in personal reflection, Reading

Leave a Reply

