Indignation!

If you feel squeamish at gory photographs, you may want to skip this post. I don’t do this lightly, but I believe the photograph is important to the message.

I had a doctor appointment this afternoon. (That went fine…some treatment for minor pre-cancer cells on my face…the legacy of a fair-skinned person spending a lot of time in the sun.)

What I am indignant about is what I saw there. The doctor’s office is located in an affluent area, yet I still found it impossible to believe seeing not one, but two women wearing full length sable coats. One woman was leaving the building as I arrived,  talking into a cell phone. The other woman, dressed in professional attire and carrying a leather messenger bag, was leaving the building ahead of me. They were the bookends on the visit and kept the issue of furs front and center in my thoughts.

How many years have we known about the price in acute suffering for furs? How many little lives must be consumed in existential and excruciating pain? How many does it take to make a stole?  How many in a jacket?  And how many in a full length – collar to ankles – coat? It’s Cruella DeVille. It’s Silence of the Lambs. It’s the unconscionable choice of individuals whose apathy highlights their lack of humanity. I’m floored that people can still wear these without shame.

your fur coat fuck fur 2 fuck fur

Though I’ve long since ceased to feel a real kinship with Peta, I would have been 100% supportive of their paint-dousing method of protest, had they been on the scene this afternoon.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in personal reflection

Leave a Reply

