Checking Him Out for the Holidays by Debbie McGowan

checking him out

I read this book today while home sick.  Raine O’Tierney mentioned that she was reading it, so I got the idea from her.

I hadn’t read anything by Debbie previously and was unfamiliar with her books. This one read like a sequel, though there was enough back story to stand on its own. The characters were sympathetic and well-developed and the conflict kept me turning pages. Somewhere along the line, this couple had gotten to an uncomfortable point and needed to talk, but the events of the story prevented that from happening. I felt empathy for them and was anxious for them to regain the sweetness of their happily ever after.

The characters loved one another and though they each had some insecurities, they treated each other with respect and love. And in the end, everything worked out…another happily ever after, following a minor bump in the road. There were some very interesting secondary characters and I would love to read their further stories as well.

Possible Spoiler – This quote captures the heart of the book(location 478/1011):  As for Adam: quite honestly I think I could have got him to do anything I wanted, he was so loved up. How had I never known this about him? I suppose it was the same as always: I didn’t ask and he didn’t tell me. There were so many things we had yet to discover about each other. These are the wonders of a long-term relationship; properly getting to know each other; feeling secure enough to address troublesome matters that once upon a time were either deemed too dangerous or too unimportant. Which meant there was a conversation we needed to have, but it could wait until my parents had been and gone.

This was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.  Thank you, Debbie (and Raine.)

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in book talk, M/M
4 comments on “Checking Him Out for the Holidays by Debbie McGowan
  1. b10track says:

    Oh wow! Thank you, Jacki! I’m so pleased you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Debbie

  2. jacki214 says:

    I’d love the story from either point of view…you just gave Matty more attention in this book, so I got to know him a bit better than Noah.

Leave a Reply

