NaNoWriMo 11/30 NaNoWriMo Winners on “The End”

“There’s a lot of giggling to yourself, partially because by this point you’ve become slightly mad, but I think also because you’re free to really take yourself less seriously.”
~Ryan Dunsmuir

    ~~  11.30.14  ~~

~~ 11.30.14 ~~

When week four shows up, I grit my teeth. This is when I’m typically close to fifty thousand words, but miles away from the end of the story. I bring out the broadest brush in my arsenal. Entire scenes get described in a few sentences as I rush to begin detailing the plot elements necessary for the story. I race to build to the climax. For the past two years, I’ve been forced to write twenty thousand words in two or three days to get the story on paper. I find the exhilaration of typing ‘The End’ to be so intense, so moving, that I typically cry as I type those words.
~Russell Kremer

The best thing about week four is coming to the end of the book. The worst thing about week four is coming to the end of the book and realizing that I am short 8000 words, and that I have to add an entire additional subplot, or change the ending, something, anything to hit 50,000 words. I hit this point in my second book and was bemoaning it at the dinner table, and my husband said, ‘You need to kill somebody. That should be good for 8000 words.’ So, I did. I killed the protagonist’s husband.
~Rise Sheridan-Peters
(pg. 152)

Standard:  50,000 (100%)
Baty, C. (2004). No Plot? No Problem!. San Francisco: Chronicle Books.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

