NaNoWriMo: 11/13 The Blog of Self-Doubt

Today NaNoWriMo tells us:  “Write boldly; don’t think ‘What if this doesn’t work?’ That’s what Command-Z is for. It’s always, always worth taking a risk.”

11.13.14

~~ 11.13.14 ~~

But I’m having a tough day at the keyboard. Maybe, it’s time for more rhetoric on inner-editors, or more specifically, ditching inner editors…

Tricks for Foiling Your Self-Editor

“‘The best trick I’ve learned is to lie to myself. When, in chapter seven, I write something that contradicts something written earlier, I tell myself that I already made the necessary corrections in chapter three. I just tell myself that earlier parts are the way I need them to be for me to write something that day which builds on them.’
–Russell Kremer, Los Angeles

‘Imagine the pages you have written to be an axe-wielding maniac, hellbent on massacring your creative flow. Get away from those pages as quickly as possible. Don’t worry how awkwardly or clumsily you do so. The very life of your book is at stake. As soon as you look back over previous pages, the doom will be upon you.’
–Trena Taylor, London

‘I write parts of my novels as emails. I simply open up Outlook or Yahoo! or whatever, address it to myself, and just start writing. Something about the rhetorical of email writing keeps my internal censor and editor quiet (or quieter at least).’
–Ed Chang, Washington, D.C.”  (pg. 123)

Gambatte!

Standard: 21,671
Baty, C. (2004). No Plot? No Problem!. San Francisco: Chronicle Books.
NaNoWriMo/FB

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

