NaNoWriMo: T -12 Days ~~~~~ Speeding Toward the Starting Gate

Chris Baty tells us in “No Plot? No Problem!” (pg. 10) “Writer and championship figure skater Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote, ‘In skating over thin ice, our safety is in our speed.'”

Last year, when I first set off to write my novel, I had no idea the speeds a writer can get up to. Seriously. Then one day my sister, who has participated since 2006, stopped by and shared some advice and helpful intelligence with me.

One of the greatest tools she showed me was Dr. Wicked’s Write or Die. She showed me where to find it, how to set up a writing session, then sat there as I wrote hundreds, even thousands of words in minutes. I had NO idea I could write that much, that fast – and not only was it pretty painless, but it was fun – like a game of beat the clock. Sadly, Dr. Wicked’s site became inaccessible just a few days later and I was sorry to see it disappear. (It seems to be back now.)

In case you’d like to investigate, Dr. Wicked has several online locations. Here are a couple (retrieved 10.20.14)

This is probably the main source for the Write or Die machine and is software for purchase.

This is the original web-based writing machine – Write or Die by Dr. Wicked, Putting the ‘Prod’ in Productivity.

Dr. Wicked on Twitter

Dr. Wicked’s Blog
(I especially love the photo gallery of his dog, entitled “The Many Sleeps of Mr. Oliver.”)

Thank you, Dr. Wicked, for creating something so wonderfully dastardly. It’s awful and amazing – and quite brilliant of you.

Cheers! Gambatte!

Baty, C. (2004). No Plot? No Problem!. San Francisco: Chronicle Books.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

