5.22.14 Reading

I started three books yesterday.

The Locker Room by Amy Lane

The Locker Room is one of those sweet first love stories. Everything about the characters is awesome. The story is fun, but Amy keeps putting in these little hints about things going wrong and my anxiety level has risen so high, I had to stop reading and I don’t know if I can pick it up again. Sometimes I have a problem dealing with conflict, so some of these get too intense for me.

Another aspect of the conflict is that it feels as if I’ve been reading for hours, but the timeline on the e-reader looks like I’ve only got about 15% read…so I’m doubly worried about the conflict.

Savor the Moment by Nora Roberts

This book is in the car and I’m enjoying it. It is the 3rd in a series about 4 women who have been friends since childhood and now have a really kick-ass wedding service business. The first book was about the photographer. The second was about the florist. The current one is about the chef/caterer/baker. The last book will have to be about the person who does all the real planning and detail work.

Wired for Story by Lisa Cron

This book was recommended by Jade Lee/Kathy Lyons. It is about the role of story in human history, how it works on a neurological and psychological level and how to use that knowledge to write satisfying and successful stories. So far, so good. I’m in chapter one which is entitled “How to Hook the Reader.”

It is late on a work night, so signing off for now.

For the most part, this blog is about reading and writing m/m romances, but there are a few personal reflections, some writerly information, and a bit of writing practice. Thank you for stopping by.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Reading

Leave a Reply

